Goldfins will Travel to Calgary, AB to Compete at the 47th Chinook Invitational April 2024

April 16, 2024


By Gary Cheung


40 swimmers representing the Saskatoon Goldfins are preparing to compete at the Chinook Invitational event at the Brookfield Residential YMCA in Seton, Calgary from April 19 to April 21, 2024.

The Calgary Patriot will host the event, expecting over 475 swimmers to participate.

The competition will include timed final events, including a unique race called the Eliminator. Preliminary heats will be held on Friday, with the top 8 swimmers advancing to the final race where 2 swimmers will be eliminated. On Saturday, the top 6 swimmers will move forward, eliminating 2 more contenders. Finally, on Sunday, the top 4 swimmers from each age group will compete in the final races. Prizes will be awarded to the top 4 swimmers in each gender category for 12 & Under and 13 & Over.

The meet schedule is as follows:

Session 1: (ALL AGES) Friday, April 19, 2024: Warm-up: 3:00 PM, Competition: 4:00 PM
Events include 50M Freestyle Eliminator (Prelims), 200M IM, 50M Fly, 200M Breaststroke (13 & Over), 50M Freestyle Eliminator (Top 8), 200M Backstroke (13 & Over), 400M IM (13 & Over).

Session 2: (12 & Under) Saturday, April 20, 2024: Warm-up: 7:30 AM, Competition: 8:15 AM
Events include 50M Freestyle Eliminator (Top 6), 200M Backstroke, 200M Freestyle, 50M Breaststroke, 400M Freestyle, 50M Backstroke, 4 X 50M Medley Relay.

Session 3: (13 & Over) Saturday, April 20, 2024: Warm-up: 2:00 PM, Competition: 3:00 PM
Events include 50M Freestyle Eliminator (Top 6), 50M Backstroke, 400M Freestyle, 200M Fly, 50M Breaststroke, 200M Freestyle, 4 X 50M Medley Relay.

Session 4: (ALL AGES) Sunday, April 21, 2024: Warm-up: 8:00 AM, Competition: 9:00 AM
Events include 50M Freestyle Eliminator (Top 4), 100M Backstroke, 100M Breaststroke, 100M Freestyle, 100M Fly, 4 X 50M Freestyle Relay.



Athletes attending include: Inioluwa Agbejule, Erioluwa Agbejule, Harper Bear, Kasey Biberdorf, Cori Biberdorf, Joshua Block, Briana Boyko, Kai Burke, Sadie Burrows, Carsyn Busa, James DeLathouwer, Kamlyn Dyck, Foster Fourney, Oliver Genest, Zahra Gokavi Bailey, Sidney Goodwin, Nathan Grayston, Ava Gursky, Emmy Hoffman, Olivia Hoffman, Hadley Hollick, Claire Huber, Landon Kennedy, Clara Lane, Sofia Lazic, Piper Lejbak, Monica Lin, Katie Longjohn, Avery Lutz, Kyle MacGillivray, Benjamin Nesteroff, Lan Nguyen, Layla Phung, Lauren Russell, Phillip Shorte, Sophia Sukut, Shay Sullivan, Jordan Szutiak, Reese Veikle, Zoe Zimonick.

The attending coaches are Gary Cheung, Ted Murphy, Sean Pederson.